"Typical Me - I've Started Something....

And Now I'm Not Too Sure" ~ Morrissey



2002-01-07 - 8:51 p.m.

*** Somewhere Over the Rainbow ***

Today was a really wierd day. I'm subbing for this math teacher, because his father passed away. I'm in for the whole week teaching algebra II n' stuff. Now, I had a small inclination that this guy might be gay when I heard him on the phone. But, he's new, so I had never met him in person. Well, I get to his classroom in the morning and there is his picture on his desk. If there is a way to "look gay" or, perhaps "effeminate" would be a better word, this guy looks it. But, you know, that's neither here nor there, and I woudln't even be mentioning it, except for what happened today during school. In EVERY single class at least one student made an off color remark about thier teacher being gay. Only, unfortunately they weren't P.C. about it. On guy said, "oh, a sub. Good, I'm sick of that homosexual!". In the next class a guy said, "Oh, a sub. Mr. So-and-So probably ran off with his Latin lover down to Mexico." When I mentioned thier teacher went "up north", one kid said, "Where? To San Fransisco?" and not thinking anything of it at the time I said, "yeah." And the whole class burst into laughter. Now, the kids that said things individually that day I told them "I will not tollerate inappropriate comments in my classroom", etc. But, the whole S.F. thing, I honestly didn't get why they all laughed until the moment had already passed and I had moved on. There was really no oportunity for me to comment on the situation. Now, for those of you who don't know... I'm a bit of a "Fag Hag" so to speak (no offence to those who don't like that term). It just means I have a lot of gay male friends. So, it's not like I'm just ignorant or something about what San Fransisco is. It's the fact that thier teacher really WAS visiting SF that made me not catch the reason the kid was asking that. But, anyway. Yeah, it's just really wierd. I mean, what do you say to something like that? I feel like these kids have bigger problems than learning Algebra II at this point, but I don't know how to address them. *sigh* It's a problem I intend to discuss with my professors sometime soon. Well, I gotta go now. Signing Off... - TypicalMe!

Signing Off...

- TypicalMe!


previous - next