"Typical Me - I've Started Something....

And Now I'm Not Too Sure" ~ Morrissey



2002-01-15 - 8:26 p.m.

*** Hi-Ho, Hi-Ho ***

Well, it's Monday. Time to get used to waking up at 6am again :-( Oh well, at least it was math again today. I subed for Mr. Davies' Algebra II and Math Analysis classes. They were really well behaved. Too well behaved, in fact. I never thought I'd be saying this, but I wished they would TALK a little more, get out of thier seats, SOMETHING! It was like teaching a class full of the living dead. Nobody would talk to me. I had to BEG for someone to read me the definition of an Ellipse from the book and nobody had questions, they just sat in thier chairs like little robots with nothing to say :-( I'm like C'mon guys, this is FUN!!!! I even made silly non-math jokes. The only class that was laughing and half-way energetic was third period. That was a relief since I messed thier lesson up pretty badly. Actually they were really good about it. It's just that I haven't done completing the square since high school and well, I uh... forgot it. So I just told them that. I'm like, "look, I'm not going to lie to you guys, I have NO idea how to do this. I'm gonna need your help. I got a B in this class *grin*" LOL and the kids were like, "hey, that's OK, I'm getting a C." and they helped me through completing the square at which point I was able to finish answering the problem. So then for the rest of the period I pretended not to know other things so the kids would laugh and have to teach *me* how to solve the problems. That was actually really effective, because then I knew they really understood the concepts. Then after work it was time for grad school again. In fact, I just got back from there. I think I have a crush on one of my teachers. All my teachers are pretty young for being professors. *grin* Just makes class that much more interesting ;-) Well, I gotta go prepare for tomorrow.

Signing Off...

- TypicalMe!


previous - next